Department Menu

Welcome to Student Health Services

School health services are a public service provided to students in Pre-K through 12th grade. These services are considered to be both preventative, as well as treatment directed. School nurses and health aides address a constant flow of students entering the clinic with an assortment of health issues. Services include, but are not limited to: administration of medication; assistance with complex or chronic health conditions, including tube-feedings, catheterizations, and glucose monitoring; health screenings; health counseling; nursing assessments; meeting emergency health needs in each school; referral and follow-up of suspected or confirmed health problems; and consultation with a student's parent or guardian in reference to the need for health follow-up by a physician. These services are intended to supplement, rather than replace, parental responsibility, to encourage parents’ attention to their child’s health, to discover health problems, and to encourage the use of the services of physicians, dentist, and community health agencies. It is expected that children who receive services through the school health program will have fewer visits to physicians and emergency rooms, fewer days lost from school due to illness, as well as daily monitoring for chronic health conditions. All contribute to a better quality of life and assist the child with the learning process.


Department Contacts

Debbie Hinson Fisher, RN, MSN
Coordinator, Student Health Services

P.O. Box 2118, DeLand, FL. 32721-2118
Phone: (386) 734-7190 ext. 20525, 20448
Email: dhfisher@volusia.k12.fl.us
Fax: (386) 626-0423
Florence Rosado
Student Health Services Office Specialist

P.O. Box 2118, DeLand, FL. 32721-2118
(386) 734-7190 ext. 20448
Email: frosado@volusia.k12.fl.us
Fax: (386) 626-0423
Marcia Machuga, RN, BSN
Senior Nursing Supervisor

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 20520
Email: mmmachu1@volusia.k12.fl.us
Office Location: Brewster Center, DeLand
Breanna Jordan, RN,BSN
Specialist Health and Wellness

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 52224,20446
Email: BSJordan@volusia.k12.fl.us
Office Location: Champion Elementary
Trudie Clem, RN
Nursing Supervisor

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 53022
Email: tnclem@volusia.k12.fl.us
Office Location: Hinson Middle School
Johana Burgos, RN
Nursing Supervisor

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 43230
Email: JBurgos@volusia.k12.fL.us 
Office Location: Deltona Middle School
Erica Pride, RN, BSN
Nursing Supervisor

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 34997
Email: espride@volusia.k12.fl.us 
Office Location: Coronado Elementary School
Denise Manecke, RN
Nursing Supervisor

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 38095
Email: drmaneck@volusia.k12.fl.us
Office Location: Spruce Creek High School​
Theresa Watson, RN, MSN   
Nursing Supervisor/ KidCare  Outreach

Phone: (386) 734-7190 ext. 20516/
E-mail: TMWatson@volusia.k12.fl.us 
Office Location: Deland High School

Nicole Yates
Office Specialist III

Phone: (386) 734-7190, ext. 20516
Email: NRYates@volusia.k12.fl.us