Skip To Main Content

District Newsroom

Board Bites - June 11, 2024


From left to right: Carl Persis (SBM Dist-4), Jamie Haynes (SBM Dist-1 Chair), Dr. Carmen Balgobin (Superintendent of Schools), Jessie Thompson (SBM Dist-3), Anita Burnette (SBM Dist-2 Vice Chair) and Ruben Colón (SBM Dist-5)



Meeting was called to order at 4:35 p.m. by Ms. Jamie Haynes, Chair.

  • Heritage Middle School recited the Pledge
  • McInnis Elementary School teacher Tawn Thomas performed the National Anthem

Pledge Anthem 6-11-24 Board Meeting

Agenda Changes 

  • Mr. Colón requested that item 16.05 Phase III Documents: Reclaimed Water Connection project at Heritage Middle School and item 16.06 Phase III Documents: Reclaimed Water Connection project at Pine Ridge High School be removed from the agenda. - Passed

Approval or Agenda

  • The superintendent recommends approval of the agenda with stated changes.  - Passed

Superintendent's Announcements and Comments

  • Bus Brigade

    • Congratulations to:

      • Ms. Jacquese Copeland, former Principal of Southwestern Middle School and newly appointed Executive Director, Exceptional Student Education, as the 2024 Secondary Principal of the Year

      • Ms. Angela Polite, Principal of Champion Elementary School, as the 2024 Elementary Principal of the Year

      • Ms. Karen Tubb, Student Transportation Services, as the 2024 non-school-based Support Staff of the Year

      • Ms. Robin Nestok, Citrus Grove Elementary, as the 2024 school-based Support Staff of the Year

  • Administrative Institute

  • Offices Closed in observance of Juneteenth on Wednesday, June 19 


Recognition of Students – VCCPTA Reflections State Winners

VCCPTA Reflections State Winner

Patty Edwards, VCCPTA Reflections Chair 

Khamila Camacho, Citrus Grove Elementary School

Emily Pedraza, Creekside Middle School

Oakley Maloney, Pine Trail Elementary School {in absentia}

Jeshua Castro, Sweetwater Elementary School


Recognition of Students – State Cyber Launch / Cyber Patriot

State Cyber Launch / Cyber Patriot

Pine Ridge High School students: Alex Cosentino, Marcos Castillo Soto, Yashoda Mangar {in absentia}


Recognition of Students – State Science Fair

State Science Fair

Burns Science & Technology Charter: Abigail Aldridge, Amanda King, Amy King

New Smyrna Beach High School: Brooklyn Bernstein 

Galaxy Middle School: Lilly Downs

Spruce Creek High School: Salsabeel Eldeeb


Administrative Appointments

Administrative Appointments

John Cash, Chief of Staff, Operations


Administrative Appointments

William Ryser, Director, Secondary Schools


Administrative Appointments

Jessica Duncan, Coordinator, Early Learning


Administrative Appointments

Stephanie DiGrazia, Coordinator, Secondary Exceptional Student Education


Administrative Appointments

Carrie Ann Devaney, Principal, Pride Elementary School


Christopher Mertz, Principal, Discovery Elementary School {in absentia} 


Administrative Appointments

Marcia Owens, Principal, Campbell Middle School


Administrative Appointments

Dr. Tai Swift, Principal, Southwestern Middle School


Public Participation Concerning Items on the Consent Agenda

Removal of Items from Consent Agenda

  • None

Approval of Consent Agenda

  • The superintendent recommends approval of all items in the amended consent agenda. - Passed

Public Participation


  • District Advisory Council Annual Report  
    • Greg Turchetta, Public Information Officer, Community Information
    • Jennifer Marinaccio, Vice Chair, District Advisory Council

Board Action Items

  • 20.01 - Authorization to Advertise Proposed Amendments to Policy 307 – Student Progression Plan 2024-2026 - Passed
  • 20.02 - Authorization to Advertise Proposed Amendments to Policy 511 – Safety of Facilities - Passed
  • 20.03 - Florida School Boards Association (FSBA) Advocacy Committee Representative and Alternate. Mr. Colón nominated Mr. Persis as the Representative and Mr. Persis nominated Mr. Colón as the Alternate. - Passed

Public Participation

Next School Board Meetings

  • School Board Meeting

Tuesday, June 25, 2024, at 4:30 p.m. in the Board Room, DeLand Administrative Complex

Meeting Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Haynes at 7:44 p.m.

School Board Meeting Livestream


Media Contact:

Community Information Services
Volusia County Schools
(386) 734-7190 ext. 20230